North African Spiced Salmon

My friend Candice is someone who will send me a text or call me up and say, “Hey, I’m coming to get away for a few days.  Is that cool?” and she’ll come!  She’s a great guest because she enjoys alone time when I’m at work or I have already planned events, and she is great to spend time with!  I think that, even though we are very different in many ways, we could live together and it would be a good thing for both of us.  Perhaps one day….

On her last visit Candice and I arrived home late on a week night and were HUNGRY (verging on HANGRY) and so I knew I needed to pull together something quickly.  I knew I had a slab of salmon from the farmer’s market and my spice rack is always stocked with great items.  So I made this and DANG!  It was GOOD!  I hope that you enjoy this one as much as we did (and continued to enjoy on salads and such the following days).  Until your return Candice!

salmon

Ingredients

1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted
juice of 1 clementine
1 1/2 teaspoons dried ginger
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1 1/2 pounds skin-on salmon fillets (I used 1 full side salmon filet)

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees

Mix the coconut oil, juice, ginger, cumin, coriander, paprika, salt and cayenne in a small bowl to form a paste.

Place the salmon on a broiler baking pan with skin- side down and massage the spice sauce over the salmon.

Place the salmon  in the oven, baking for about 12 minutes.  Check the salmon – you want it perfectly done – not over or under cooked 🙂

Serve immediately.

Great idea for leftovers!  So yummy - check out the lemon tahini dressing on the blog!

Great idea for leftovers! So yummy – check out the lemon tahini dressing on the blog!

Leave a Reply

