Cauliflower Crust Pizza Done 2 Ways

20121003-211944.jpg

I’ve seen some neat things on Pinterest, but the cauliflower pizza crust really captured my attention.  I thought I’d give it a try but became disappointed when I saw there was dairy in it.  Since I’ve made a commitment to short-term veganism (except when I go to Clarion this weekend for a poor man’s caramel apple that is!) I needed to find something else.  In the end I made both a ‘regular’ cauliflower pizza crust for my dining companions (is there such a thing?) and a vegan cauliflower pizza crust.  I did taste a bit of the traditional so I could evaluate whether it was worth it to make it again.  Both got the stamp of approval from my dining partners and me.  See what you think!

Traditional Cauliflower Pizza

Crust Ingredients:

2 eggs

2 cups mozzarella cheese

2 cups riced cauliflower (I put mine in a food processor)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup fresh julienned basil

Methods:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, spray with non-stick spray.

In a medium bowl, combine riced cauliflower, basil, eggs and mozzarella.

Bake the crusts at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.

Put toppings on and Place back in the oven until cheese is melted, about 5 – 10 minutes.

The toppings I used:  homemade marinara sauce (recipe coming soon), mozzarella cheese, sliced raw tomatoes, red bell pepper, broccoli florets, pre-sautéed mushrooms, oregano

Vegan Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Crust Ingredients

1 cup riced cauliflower (I put mine through the food processor)

1 tbsp flaxseed

3 tbsp water (for flaxseed)

30g or 3 tbsp garbanzo flour

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp rosemary

Methods:

Preheat oven to 450F. Place flaxseed meal and 3 tbsp water in a small bowl and mix.

Mix all crust ingredients and top off with flaxseed mix (egg replacer) and mix well.

Spray baking stone with EVOO and roll out crust by using the back of a spoon or spatula.

Bake for 30 minutes until edges are golden and middle is cooked.

Then add topping and bake 15-20 minutes or until toppings are done. – for the vegan cheese toping I chose to use Daiya Mozzarella style cheese

Leave a Reply

