Vegan Taco Salad

I enjoy a delicious taco salad.  It’s one of my favorite things to get at the local fair in August.  I made this cleaned-up, healthier version that I hope you’ll enjoy!  I feel like I’m really indulging when I pack it in my school lunch, but it’s so good for me!

Also, you’ll notice that I made my own taco seasoning.  It’s very simple and inexpensive.  You’ll have more left over for family taco night and I’m guessing you won’t be buying those packets any more!

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 small yellow onion, chopped

2 ears corn, kernels cut off

8 oz. tempeh, cubed

1 (15 oz.) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 tablespoon taco seasoning (see recipe below)

8 oz. romaine lettuce salad

1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and sliced

sprinkling of nutritional yeast

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1 lime, sliced for garnish (optional)

1 bag tortilla chips  (optional – choose a good brand such as RW Garcia)

salsa or pico de gallo substitute for dressing (optional – if you don’t make your own, go for a good brand like Green Mountain Gringo)

 

Homemade Taco Seasoning:

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp oregano
1 tsp paprika
1 Tbsp cumin
2 1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper

1.  Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and store in an airtight container

 
Taco Salad Methods
Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onion and saute until starting to brown, about 7 minutes. Add corn kernels and tempeh, and saute another 2 minutes, or until corn is tender. Add beans,  taco seasoning and 1 tablespoon water and saute another minute. Remove from heat and let cool slightly or until room temperature.

Place lettuce in a large serving bowl. Pile tempeh mixture on top. Arrange avocado, tomatoes, nutritional yeast, and cilantro on top of tempeh mixture. Garnish with lime wedges and serve with chips.

 

Leave a Reply

