Zip Zing Hummus

Zip-Zing Hummus

Recently I went to a local coffee shop with a group of friends to hear a performer.  Different friends returned to our table with yummy-looking lunch offerings.  Eventually I went and ordered a veggie wrap and was thrilled to hear that I could have my choice of hummus.  The offerings sounded delicious, but I eventually settled on jalapeno lime.  It totally rocked my lunch experience.  I wanted to create it.  Though I didn’t quite hit the nail on the head with this recipe,   It is smooth and creamy though without busting your caloric budget!  I think all you spice-lovers will thoroughly enjoy my Zip-Zang Hummus and the peppery punch it delivers!

 

Ingredients:

3 jalapeños

2 cayenne peppers

1 15-ounce can chickpeas

1 15-ounce can of Great Northern beans

juice of 3 limes

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons tahini (or substitute extra-virgin olive oil)

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon coriander

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

 

Method:

Wash and finely dice all of the peppers and combine them with all ingredients, except olive oil, in food processor.  Process until smooth and then slowly stream in the olive oil while processor is still running.

Enjoy with your favorite crudités, corn chips, Triscuits, or be very creative and spread on a sandwich or top an undressed salad!

 

Leave a Reply

