Grilled Lime Chicken and Shrimp Skewers

I have a really neat extended family, full of characters and a rich history of stories.  Many of the stories I grew up hearing and I was always begging my mom to tell me stories from when she was a little girl.  In my mind they were the best.

Two members of my extended family drove up from the Harrisburg/Hershey area to spend the day with my mom.  I told her that I’d come and help her with dinner so they could visit more.  I decided to make Lime Chicken and Shrimp Skewers with some pieces of grilled pineapple.  Here is what I did:

Marinade.
3 tablespoons soy sauce

2 Tbs. honey

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Juice of 1 Lime

Chopped Cilantro

1 clove of garlic run through a garlic press

Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast or Peeled and Deveined Shrimp (both are pictured)

In a small bowl combine soy sauce, honey, vegetable oil, lime juice, cilantro and garlic.

For Chicken:  cut the chicken into large chunks, skewer onto bamboo sticks that have been soaked

in water for 5 minutes, and marinate for at least 30 minutes.

Grill on medium high heat for 6 to 8 minutes on each side, until juices run clear

For Shrimp – Marinate for 30 minutes and grill for 2-4 minutes on each side

I think this would taste great with brown rice and steamed veggies; I served mine with the Shaved Asparagus Salad and some plain black quinoa with freshly squeezed lemon juice.

It was a yucky day outside so I used a grill pan and did this on the stove inside.

This is my mom with my Great-Aunt Louise.  She is quite the character.  She’s 92 and sharp and sassy.  As I was taking this picture she said to make sure that she looked sexy and then said that I should send it to Hollywood so she could be famous since she looks like a movie star! 😉  She walks with a cane now and as she was leaving she said, “Come over here Sara Ann and kiss the Canaanite”    So cute!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Lime Chicken and Shrimp Skewers

  1. Pingback: Congratulatory Luau « The Sassy Stove

  2. Pingback: Cabin 5 Reunions « The Sassy Stove

Leave a Reply

