Sunshine ‘Pasta’

I had good intentions.  I thought that I had planned my day well the night before, but then I realized I was out of lettuce so the salad I was planning for my dinner wasn’t going to happen.  It was 6:30 AM and I was leaving for the day; I needed to eat dinner on the run – reheating was not an option.  I looked at what I had in the fridge and voila!  Here’s what I had!

Sauce

4 roma tomatoes, diced (or 6 Campari)

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 tsp. raw honey

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

Pasta

8 cups combined zucchini and yellow squash, julienned*

1 cup corn

1 cup shredded carrots

1 cup diced tomatoes

* a mandolin works great if you have one, but if not, I have done it by hand with a knife.  You’ll notice some larger chunks of zucchini in my picture because I like my fingers and only use the mandolin up to a point with the guard and then use a knife for the rest!

Combine all sauce ingredients except olive oil in a blender and puree until smooth.  Turn the blender on high and slowly add the olive oil to emulsify the mixture.

Toss together pasta ingredients and add the sauce.  If you like, feel free to garnish this with some of your favorite fresh herbs.  I think cilantro adds a great flavor that complements this dish!I hope you enjoy this healthy dish as much as I did!

I imagine that it’ll be even better on a leisurely summer evening!

Leave a Reply

