Faux Milkshake

When I get busy and don’t sleep like I should I crave sweet chocolatey things.  Even better if peanut butter accompanies it!  I was driving home from school yesterday and thinking what i could snack on before heading to rehearsal.  I was thinking of chocolate goodness rather than the freshly cut veggies or Greek yogurt I should grab.  Then I thought about it.  Why not use my raw cacoa powder and whey protein powder to create a good-for-me indulgent treat!?

1 scoop of organic whey protein powder (I currently use NOW Whey Protein Powder – no sweeteners or artificial flavors or ingredients)

2 tablespoons cacoa powder (I use Navitas – it’s also sugar free and is 100% pure organic cacoa powder)

the following ingredients I didn’t measure:

approximately 1 cup of frozen strawberries

approximately 1 cup of unsweetened original almond milk

optional garnish – mini chocolate chips – used sparingly – don’t ruin this health drink on the garnish!

 

Combine all ingredients except for chocolate chips in a good blender (I use a Vitamix) and run until blended.  Add more almond milk as needed.  Pour into glasses and add garnish if using.

 

So, this wasn’t a milkshake and the jury is still out on this one, but it took care of my craving and kept me going at rehearsal.  I’d trade the calories for the health in order to enjoy this again.  I would never serve it to as a guest and call it a milkshake, but if my health conscious friends wanted to try something new and different, I’d give this a whirl.  Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

