Open-Faced Salad Sandwich (or Green Tartine)

 I had a meeting at school last week with some middle school teachers.  Laura, who was sitting next to me, asked me about cooking.  I shared with her that I have been in the kitchen and began this blog at the request of some friends.  She instantly shared some of her favorites and the one included a recipe for an avocado asparagus tartine.  This prompted me to take this recipe and run with it!

I enjoyed this as a Saturday morning brunch since I didn’t have rehearsal for my upcoming show that I’m choreographing.  A few hours of unplanned time is something that I haven’t experienced in a while and I took advantage of it!

I used my mortar and pestle that I brought back with me from Indonesia to mash the avocado. Using kitchen nicknacks that you brought back from your journeys is a great way to reminisce about a past trip.

This serves 2-4 people, depending on whether you want 1 or 2 pieces of bread

Ingredients:

4 toasted pieces of whole grain bread, rubbed with olive oil and fresh garlic (bonus points for making your own- I purchased mine from the bakery department in the grocery store.  Mine was a whole wheat, whole grain artisanal loaf.  I DO NOT recommend purchasing a factory wrapped loaf from the general bread aisle).

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 lb of asparagus stalks, trimmed roughly to the length of your bread

1 clove garlic through a garlic press

1 avocado, pitted and smashed

a couple handfuls of arugula

a handful of toasted pepitas (pumpkin seeds)

While the bread is toasting, head the olive oil in a large skillet over a medium-high heat. Add the asparagus and a pinch of salt and saute for 30-60 seconds.  Add the garlic and cook for another 30 seconds.  Remove from heat.

Give each piece of bread a generous slather of mashed avocado. Top that with a bit of arugula, a few asparagus spears, and a generous sprinkling of pepitas.

Enjoy shortly after assembling


One thought on “Open-Faced Salad Sandwich (or Green Tartine)

  1. Pingback: Rachael’s Birthday « The Sassy Stove

Leave a Reply

