Protein Blast Salad (another busy life entry)

We are all so busy these days.  It’s almost an American value!  I am not going to sit here and claim to be any busier than any of you, but my life is about to get crazier.  So, I am not only a teacher, but also have a side job in a local restaurant.  It’s a nice way to earn some extra cash and I figure now is the time to do it while I’m young.  Additionally, I was also offered a job as a choreographer in a local musical production, a job that I didn’t apply for.  I had been looking for a way to get into dance again (I was a dance minor in college) and I anticipate that this will be a fun experience.

So I am really committed to doing ALL of these things without letting anything slip through the cracks!  That means that I need to be thinking ahead and planning to make sure everything falls into place.  I am going to need to have meals ready-to-go and bring a lot with me (think a cooler with the entire day of meals being toted everywhere).  There will also be times where I won’t have access to a stove, oven, or microwave, so I need food that doesn’t require any additional prep.  Here is where my Endamame, Black Bean, and Wheat Berry Salad, or Protein Blast Salad, comes in:

 

Black Bean, Endamame and Wheat Berry Salad

 

Ingredients
4 cups water
1/2 cup dried wheat berries
1/2 of a 15 oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup frozen edamame
1 cup chopped tomato
1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

 

1. Combine water and wheat berries in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer 55 minutes or until wheat berries are just tender.

2. Place in a fine mesh strainer and run under cold water to cool quickly, drain well.

3. Combine the wheat berries with the remaining ingredients in a medium bowl.

4. Serve at room temperature or cold

 

This is a great salad to take to picnics and outdoor get-togethers.  It’s healthy and full of fiber, and of course, protein.

 

Leave a Reply

