Gazpacho

Spring is coming and soon it will be summer.  I may be early but I’ve had some requests for my gazpacho recipe.  That being said, I make this recipe out of season too because I love it so much.  This particular recipe doesn’t contain bread so it’s gluten-free.  If you’re watching sodium intake, I recommend using lower-sodium vegetable juice.

Image

1   seedless cucumber, peeled and chopped

1   red bell pepper, cored, seeded, and chopped

1/2   medium onion, peeled and chopped

3   cloves  Garlic, through garlic press

1   bottle (46 oz) Vegetable Juice

3   tomatoes-on-the vine, chopped

1/4   cup Red Wine Vinegar

1/4   cup Olive Oil

Juice of 1 lime

1   jalapeno pepper, seeded, (wear gloves if you have sensitive hands), chopped

1/2   cup chopped fresh cilantro chopped

1/2  teaspoon Salt

Put all ingredients in a container that you’re planning on storing it in and use a handheld blender (a regular blender will work too – I find it to be too liquid for a food processor) to reach desired consistently.  I like mine to be relatively smooth, while some like big chunks.

Chill the soup in the refrigerator.

I find this soup to be lovely served the next day, after the flavors have had time to mix and marinate.

Enjoy this healthy option!

5 thoughts on “Gazpacho

  1. It definitely doesn’t feel like spring here in New Hampshire with snow on the ground but your gazpacho would be yummy this summer when I’m harvesting my tomatoes.

  2. Pingback: Day 1: D- Day « The Hippie Diet

  3. Pingback: Homemade Fresh Salsa | The Sassy Stove

  4. Pingback: Tomatoes, Tomatoes Everywhere! | The Sassy Stove

Leave a Reply

