Throw-In Mexican Chicken Soup

I recently had a request for healthy soups!  I just happen to be known as the ‘soup girl’ at school.  I bring them in a mason jar, heat them up and enjoy them right out of the jar (blog post about this to come).  The aroma of my soup fills the teacher lounge making the experience that much better!

I think soups are a fantastic, healthy, simple lunch.  They are one of my staples at school.  I like to be creative and try all kinds of different options.  I keep things unique by making a batch and freezing half of it so I don’t get sick of it and I can pull it out in a pinch later.

Recently I created a chopped ‘Throw-In’ Mexican Chicken Soup.  It was quick, simple, and used up some ingredients I had in my refrigerator.  I don’t think I’ve ever received such praise over soup!  I tried really hard to remember what I did (after all, I literally did just throw things in!)

You’ll notice that it contains pulled chicken breast.  You can take some of the fire roasted tomatoes and roast the chicken breast in the oven or even prepare ahead in a slow cooker.  Regardless, the fire roasted tomatoes will end up in the soup.

Here is my best effort in recipe memory….

Ingredients

Extra virgin olive oil

1 chopped onion

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 red bell pepper

1 chopped zucchini

1 can of black beans

2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes

6 cups of chicken broth

1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cooked and pulled

Juice of 1 lime

handful of chopped fresh cilantro

salt and pepper to taste

 

 

 

 

Heat the extra virgin olive oil over medium heat

Add the chopped onion and stir until softened

Add the minced garlic, red pepper, and zucchini.  Cook until vegetables are slightly softened

Add the firs roasted tomatoes, black beans, and broth and cook for about 10 minutes

Add the chicken and cook for 5 minutes

Add the freshly squeezed lime, cilantro,  salt and pepper and serve!

2 thoughts on “Throw-In Mexican Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: Mexican Chop Salad with Honey Lime Cilantro Vinaigrette Dressing « The Sassy Stove

Leave a Reply

