Cowboy Cookies

My friend Michelle had a birthday.  I think that birthdays are really something to be celebrated.  I want those around me to feel extra special and really loved on their big day.  Michelle is a particularly special friend to me.

An older picture from a much simpler time

We connected right away.  We were very different in many ways.  I can be more outgoing, she more quiet.  I am less direct, where she’s a pretty straight-shooter.  But almost instantly we discovered that we had much more important things in common.  We discovered we had similar passions and interests and deep down, perhaps we were more alike than we had thought.  Though we really haven’t known each other that long, we’ve both lived a lot of life in that short time.  There are times when I think that Michelle was strategically placed in my life to just ‘get me’ at different moments in my life.  I’m so thankful for her.

So because it was her birthday, I wanted to do something extra special.  Early on in our friendship I learned of the famous ‘Cowboy Cookies’ her family makes.  I had to make them!

It wasn’t easy!  I baked and they still looked raw!  I learned that the trick is to allow them to continue cooking on the cookie sheet (you’re welcome).  I also remedied this situation by popping them in the oven longer.  Here they are boys!  Come and get it!

Ingredients

1 cup shortening or butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

½ tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

½ tsp baking power

¼ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups regular oats (not quick oats)

1 cup (6oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325° F.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the shortening with the white and brown sugar
  3. Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat.
  4. In another bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.  Stir into batter.
  5. Add oats and chocolate chips. Mix well
  6. Drop onto ungreased cookie sheet using a small cookie dough scoop
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes (or more if needed).

Despite my trepidation, Michelle confirmed that they did indeed taste like her beloved Cowboy Cookies from home.  When I got home I accidentally dropped almost all of the remaining cookies on the floor.  That’s the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

Leave a Reply

