Cooking for Someone Special

There is a special man in my life.  Perhaps I have been less than forthcoming about him, but it’s really time that I give him his proper due.  This man has been so patient and supportive of me.  When I act like a brat, he just keeps loving me.  I wouldn’t be the same without him.  Dad, I love you.

My pantry was looking scant (remember our Clean Eating Roasted Red Pepper Chicken?) but I’ve heard it said that a good cook can work with what she’s got, so off I go!  So what do I make when I’m with this carnivorous icon on a Sunday night?

The rules:

It’s gotta be relatively healthy

It’d be great if it used either cod or shrimp (at dad’s request)

It must use ingredients that I have on hand

It must be yummy!

While I was pondering, my best friend, Rachael arrived.  Looks like I’ll be cooking for TWO special people tonight!!  Rachael and I have been friends since we were 4.  I’m not sure when it really happened, but at some point we became more than friends, more than best friends, but family.  She’s awesome.  I know that she’s always got my back and I hope that she knows the reverse is true!  She watched as I floated from bowl to bowl and sprung from recipe to recipe.  God bless that girl, she even started doing my dishes!  Now THAT is a best friend!

So here’s what I did!

Get that brown rice working.  I chose to keep it plain because of the mix of flavors already present in the meal (I chose to serve the Asian Salad from yesterday’s entry as well.  shhh, don’t tell that I cheated).

Sesame – Orange Shrimp with steamed brown rice and sugar snap peas

1 lb. Shrimp

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

2 egg whites

1/4 cup corn starch

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

2 tablespoons canola oil, divided

3/4 cup orange juice

Splash of madera wine (to your liking – no more than 1/4 cup!)

2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 teaspoon sugar

1 scallion, thinly sliced

Peel and devein shrimp

mix sesame seeds, egg whites, cornstarch, salt and pepper in a large bowl.

Add shrimp and toss to coat.

In a separate bowl combine orange juice, Madeira wine, soy sauce, and sugar and set aside.

Spray a large skillet with nonstick spray (I love using olive oil in a Misto) over medium heat. Add half the shrimp in a single layer and cook until golden, 1 to 2 minutes per side. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate to drain. Repeat with the  rest of the shrimp.

Put orange juice mixture into the pan.  Bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened and reduced by half, 4 to 6 minutes. Return the shrimp to the pan and stir to coat with the sauce. Serve immediately, with scallion sprinkled on top.

Steam those sugar snap peas!

My desserts.

Now, here is a Sassy Stove Fail!  I did NOT like the results of my Clean Eating Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie (too good to be true, right?) but here is something else I found….

(Relatively) Healthy Deep Dish Crustless Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

(It’s vegan and gluten free!!)

  • 2 cans white kidney  beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 T canola oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1  and 1/4 cup brown sugar (that’s a lot!  I’d like to try to cut it – perhaps I’ll let you know how that goes).
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a food processor or blender.  I used a food processor but I’d love to give it a go in my Vitamix

Mix in chips, and pour into a sprayed spring form pan

Cook at 350F for around 40 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

Rachael, Dad, and I tried it and were pleasantly surprised!  I’ll be honest and say that I don’t like it as much as my traditional, decadent Cookie Pie (recipe to come!) but it was good!  Daddy gave it a thumbs up!  From a man with a sweet tooth from Hershey, I’d say that’s pretty good.

2 thoughts on “Cooking for Someone Special

Leave a Reply

