Breakfast Quinoa – Maple Cinnamon with Roasted Pecans

Breakfast Quinoa – Maple Cinnamon with Roasted Pecans

It was a cold blustery day and winter had delivered 6 inches of feathery fluff on our doorsteps.  Regardless, my goal was brunch with a group of my dear friends.  We were hosted by my friend, Amanda, who recently left the teaching profession to start her own chef business.  Since we are both the foodies of our group, I got to work in my kitchen.  In true Sassy Stove fashion, I concocted multiple dishes at once.  Below you see my cure for the vegan, gluten-free sweet tooth.  It’s relatively healthy too!

1 Cup Quinoa

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons  maple syrup

1 cup roasted pecans

Cook quinoa with 2 cups of water over medium high heat.  Bring to a boil and reduce heat and simmer until liquid is absorbed.  Remove from heat and add cinnamon, vanilla, and maple syrup.  I prefer to have my pecans throughout, but if you’re serving at a party, I serve the nuts on the side in case of allergies.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Quinoa – Maple Cinnamon with Roasted Pecans

  1. Pingback: Sassy Stove Quinoa Salad « The Sassy Stove

Leave a Reply

